Self Awakening Yoga Studio's Blog

Yoga, Breath, Light, Love

To Set an Intention Or Not…

For those of you who have not experienced yoga….yet…students often set an intention at the beginning of class. This is typically a suggestion from the teacher, but not everybody knows what that means and some students even feel intimidated if they don’t know what their intention is “supposed” to be.

I know…..I was one of those students waaaay back in 2004 when I took my first yoga class. I could not imagine what the teacher meant….a prayer? Did it have to be for someone or something? Is it mandatory? If I pick me is that selfish? Is somebody keeping track? All of a sudden I began to sweat just sitting there. I mean….will she know if I don’t come up with one????

Turns out the sweat, intimidation and stress were for naught. Why? Because I learned almost instantly that if I wanted to set an intention for myself, my practice, or somebody/thing I could. But if I didn’t want to or wasn’t moved to….nobody but me knew.

So…my first intention was to embrace the process of setting an intention! Go figure…that simple. And without even realizing it, I began to set an intention not to struggle so much in my practice…to soften my jaw and relax my shoulders so I could find the joy in each pose that the teacher was talking about.

Before long, and again, without self-realization, I was moved to send my intentions toward a friend going through a difficult time, toward my grand-kids, and my aging mother…pretty heady stuff right?

Heady stuff is not required and there have been times when my intentions went to A Red Sox World Series, A Patriots Super Bowl, Bruins Stanley Cup….yep…I am from New England…..and even for non pro local sports..the economy and LOTS of times….little ol’ me 🙂

So…you see…the intention is mine…it is personal…and it should not be mandatory or forced!

If you are a teacher how do you offer the intention? If you are a student, what are your thoughts on intentions?

By all means share…..but only if you are moved to.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2010 by in inner peace, vinyasa flow, yoga.
