Self Awakening Yoga Studio's Blog

Yoga, Breath, Light, Love

Running and Yoga…or is it Yoga and Running??

I suppose the answer to the question lies within the individual, right? For me it would probably be Yoga and Running since Yoga is dear to my heart, soul, and joints. But I digress.

I started running recently afer a 15+ year hiatus. I have tried to run over the past 3 – 5 years without success in large part because of my large parts. I recently lost 45 pounds and can honestly blame those extra pounds for getting in the way. Too much added weight on knees and hips where I have old injuries.

So now that I am running lighter thanks not only to the weight loss but also to my fabulous new minimalistic green silencer running shoes made by Brooks, I am truly amazed at the Yoga alignment and mechanics that support a comfortable, successful run. Which explains all the Yoga for Runners Classes I see on other studio’s websites!

Now don’t get me wrong…I won’t be competing or winning races….my pace is VERY slow, but for me a successful run is one where I do not sustain an injury and where I can run continuously for 30+ minutes without gasping for breath. Well maybe just a little gasping as I charge up the hills, of which there are plenty, in my New Hampshire neighborhood, but again, I digress.

Here is what I am learning about Yoga and Running: Form is everything! Just like in Yoga if you do not have the proper form and alignment you will not grow in your practice. So…this morning when I went out for my run, with awareness, I stacked shoulders over hips, hips over knees, knees over ankles and engaged my lowest belly muscles. And I am pretty certain, though I don’t have proof, that my feet never even touched the ground. Yep…I felt like I was running through the air…of course…..I have to give some of that credit to the Green Silencers, but WOW!!!! What a great run. 30 minutes non stop, no injuries, and only a teeny, tiny gasp for breath up the steepest hill, which is in front of my house!

All in all…..a successful run!!

Now….if I can only learn how to breathe in and out of my nose when I run I might just be winning races in the future!

Oh well…..one step at a time, right?

2 comments on “Running and Yoga…or is it Yoga and Running??

  1. Erin
    October 29, 2010

    Nice work, Barbara! I enjoy running too and form is always something I’m trying to improve upon. It’s definitely a challenge but once you can get it down you don’t feel like you have to work as hard as you said. I have a ways to go on improving my form but I think I at least have the posture part down (properly aligned, shoulders back, not slouching, etc–it is a lot like yoga 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

    • selfawakeningyogastudio
      October 29, 2010

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment Erin. I didn’t realize you are a runner. Good for you. Do you find yoga enchances your performance at all? BTW – Did you buy the shoes????????

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2010 by in Lightness, Running, yoga.
