Self Awakening Yoga Studio's Blog

Yoga, Breath, Light, Love

Is Just Finishing the Race….Even If You Come In Last….Really Enough???

Tomorrow I will be part of a 3 person team in a local Duathlon.  The team includes me, my husband, and our 12-year-old granddaughter….who runs cross-country and indoor/outdoor track and is very fast. My husband is extremely fit as well and regularly runs 5k’s, cycles etc.  And then there’s me who just started running a month or so ago.

Heres the plan: I run the 1st 5k; hubby rides the middle 15 miles; granddaughter runs the 2nd 5k.  I figure if I go out first, they can make up the time I will lose because I am very, very, did I mention very slow Oh I forgot to mention that points are based on combined age and then total time.  Let me just say our combined age is over 100 (I’m not saying by how much) which does give us a pretty good chance of winning in our combined age group cause we figure we will definitely be the oldest. 

Now to answer the question if just finishing the race even if I come in last is really enough. I know what I am supposed to say, that finishing is what it is all about and I believe for some people that is true,  but ….ummmm…..how do I say this?…..Not for me. There I said it out loud…well…at least in the written word but I feel better for having typed it.

And here is the reason … Because no matter how much breathing, centering, meditating and yoga I do, which is a couple of times a day every day of the week, deep down I am still that highly competitive, type a personality that has gotten me to this point in my life and, snap it all, I don’t want to be the very last person over the line in the 1st or last 5k of my life.  And as those who know me have heard me at least 1,000 times, “short of a lobotomy, we are who we are ” and for better or worse, I am the kind of person who wants to do more than just finish. 

So….I will a good night’s sleep, eat a runner’s breakfast, wear the right gear, put on my game face and use all that yoga, centering, meditation and breathing to come in 2nd to last!

Fingers crossed that is!!

2 comments on “Is Just Finishing the Race….Even If You Come In Last….Really Enough???

  1. Lois Parker Carmona
    October 30, 2010

    Run with intention. Run with urgency. Run with crazy type-A blood flowing through your veins. Run so fast your hair looks wild at the finish. Just make yourself proud of you, whether first or last.

    and if you get tired, imagine I’m catching up from behind and get your butt moving!

    • selfawakeningyogastudio
      October 30, 2010

      Great visual Lois! Thanks for the inspiring words. Truthfully? I will be proud of myself no matter what. I am really excited about being part of this fabulous team and the spirit it embodies!!!!!! Go family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2010 by in balance, Flexibility, health, Life, Lightness, Running, Uncategorized.
