Self Awakening Yoga Studio's Blog

Yoga, Breath, Light, Love

FOLD……FORWARD!!

So simple…yet so powerful!

When I was thinking about teaching my 5:30 pm yoga class yesterday I was feeling a bit lethargic and, to be completely honest with you, somewhat uninspired. Yep…even yoga teachers have their moments of un-inspiration.

Anyway, when I stood up at my desk, I had this deep urge to fold  forward….and without giving it much thought, I did just that.  Lucky for me I am in a nice private area at work or those around me might have wondered what the heck was going on.  Of course I would have loved it if somebody had approached me so I could explain myself and the myriad of benefits the pose encompasses, but…..nobody came.  Also lucky I wasn’t wearing my mini-skirt!!

The beauty here is I didn’t even realize that forward fold was lurking in the back of my mind, but once I folded and “let go” I totally understood why the urge came upon me.

That folding into oneself while completely surrendering is like nothing else.  Just the feel of my feet connecting solidly with the earth, the release of my lower back, neck, and breath.  Wow…in fact, excuse me while I bust one out right now.  Ahhhh….so wonderful……okay…I’m back.

So I perused my resources to remind me of the many benefits of this pose and immediately recognized why my inner wisdom asked me to fold…right then and there.  Sort of like being asked to “drop and give me 20” but in a kinder, gentler way.  I had not slept well the night before, so I was tired; I was working on a new project with a shortened deadline, so there was a teeny bit of stress; my lower body felt somewhat stiff, and I felt the edges of a headache knocking ever so lightly.  And behold…the fold!

And there was my inspiration for class! Needless to say, I was so taken with my body’s ability to literally tell me what it needed and my ability to actually listen, that I decided I would start class in forward fold and see where it took us.

It was a small class with students who had experienced an extremely stressful and tiring day and it was obvious from the chatter in the studio that a lot of “letting go” was in order. And so…we began in the fold, and as they folded into themselves, I encouraged them to keep their eyes closed, to come into their breath and to visualize all of the good that was going on.  All the softening they could invite, the connection with feet to earth, their mind, body, and soul and the absolute strength in the letting go. And that took us through a truly inspiring class that spoke to each one of us…erasing the day’s challenges and freeing us up to enjoy the rest of the evening and start “tomorrow” fresh, revived, and motivated!  Witness…the absolute, undiluted beauty of yoga!

For those of you who love forward fold but weren’t sure why, for the uninitiated, give it a try, and for those who don’t love it, close your eyes and visualize all it has to offer.  See benefits below.  And if that fails….DROP AND GIVE ME 20!!

Benefits

  • Calms the brain and helps relieve stress and mild depression
  • Stimulates the liver and kidneys
  • Stretches the hamstrings, calves, and hips
  • Strengthens the thighs and knees
  • Improves digestion
  • Helps relieve the symptoms of menopause
  • Reduces fatigue and anxiety
  • Relieves headache and insomnia
  • Therapeutic for asthma, high blood pressure, infertility, osteoporosis, and sinusitis

 

 

2 comments on “FOLD……FORWARD!!

  1. Julia
    March 14, 2011

    Fabulously written! Well said!!

    • selfawakeningyogastudio
      March 14, 2011

      Thank you Julia. You are one of my wisest and most inspirational teachers! I learned most of what I know from you. I am glad you enjoyed the piece and very glad that I found Forward Fold.

      Peace and warmth,

      Barbara

Leave a Reply

