Self Awakening Yoga Studio's Blog

Yoga, Breath, Light, Love

AND THE TEACHER BECOMES THE STUDENT

I had every intention of offering a  moderate vinyasa flow class to the 8 young men that I teach to on Wednesday and Friday evenings tonight.

I had worked the sequence out in my head at 2 am when I couldn’t get back to sleep, sketched it out at work, and practiced it aloud during the drive to class. The guys had asked for one active class and one guided meditation class per week. I was happy to oblige and figured Wednesday would be the active class and Friday would be the guided meditation class.

So I got changed and entered the room to 8 enthusiastic guys…sitting on their mats, chatting, laughing, waiting to get started.  Sounds like just the right recipe for an active yoga class right?  Ummm….not really.

It’s hard to explain, but something about the energy and body language presented a different story to me.  My observation was they needed 180 of what my plan was. The signal…obvious only to me was…”We are in need of guided meditation tonight”. Ooookkkaayyy….about face, toss the plan aside, wipe the slate clean and turn out the lights.

And so went our class for this Wednesday night.  Lights outs, flat on our backs, totally relaxed and tapping into the center of our beings. At first 1/2 of them had a hard time finding stillness….wiggling, turning, yawning, fretting and doubting. But before long all 8 tapped into their breath and found peace and stillness.  And they stayed that way for 15 minutes! Exploring, inquiring, learning…simply how to “be”.

I continue to be amazed at how much I learn  from my students – certainly  more than I am able to teach.  And I definitely learn more than books can offer. More times than not, the greatest teachers are the students in my class.  This was a perfect example of all that yoga has helped me to become. A student first, a teacher second.

Along side of these brave young men, I stepped into my peaceful space and breathed fresh life into a body that had allowed itself to be influenced by the stress of my week.

Thank you guys for being my teacher tonight.

Namaste’

I breathe in....I breathe out...

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “AND THE TEACHER BECOMES THE STUDENT

  1. Shannon
    November 17, 2011

    WOW! Amazing Barbara and how wonderful that you are so tuned in to realize that they needed something different, what a gift! Thanks for the post 🙂

    • selfawakeningyogastudio
      November 17, 2011

      Thank you Shannon. Sometimes I do get it right 🙂 I actually think it was me that needed something different and that just translated into what they needed too. If that makes any sense.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2011 by in asana, balance, breath, Buddah, enlightenment, health, inner peace, Lightness, meditaton, recovery, Strength, teaching, trust.
