Self Awakening Yoga Studio's Blog

Yoga, Breath, Light, Love

COMBAT HOLIDAY STRESS!!

Do yoga!  Yep…you heard me.

The first thing we give up when time constraint rears its ugly head is time for ourselves.  Am I right?  You know I am.

But does anybody really benefit from our self-sacrifice?

I know, in the long run, that nobody in my circle, including myself does.  Why?  Because I am tired, grumpy, stressed, unhappy and…drum roll please….resentful toward those I am giving my time up for!

So what’s the point??  I think, especially for us women, it has to do with what I affectionately call the “Martyr Meter”…..and the higher the meter, the larger the sacrifice, the bigger the bragging rights. Bragging, complaining, venting, whining…call it what you may, it comes free with the Martyr Meter, but in the long run, nobody really benefits.

BUT practice on your mat, at home or in the studio, every day during the holiday season and find the peace, balance, and love of others that feels SO MUCH BETTER than sacrificing, bragging, complaining….you get the picture right?

Time for YOU means you are way more likely have an enhanced, quality experience with those you want to please and they don’t have to listen to our….venting, or see our scrunched up faces, or deeper lines between the eyebrows.  In fact, the more time we make for ourselves, the more accessible we are to others.  And it shows, believe me!

Food for thought, huh?

WITH Yoga

Without Yoga!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2011 by in breath.
