Self Awakening Yoga Studio's Blog

Yoga, Breath, Light, Love

IT DOESN’T TAKE MUCH!

become your bestIt doesn’t take much to shift your vibration…..or in street terms, to shift your focus, change your mood, do yourself and others a great service.  How?  Cultivate a daily meditation practice.

As a typical Type A personality. I want to control everything and everybody.  I want to solve problems for others – although I’m not always great at solving my own. I burn the candle at both ends.  I multitask – very likely not as effectively as I think! And I move at the speed of sound!  Oh….and I tend to make something out of nothing….and not in a good way. In that emotional way where we sometimes end up becoming the victim in a totally victimless situation!

I had to figure out how to breathe into myself, appreciate all the good that is ME, and make it easier for those around me to enjoy my company…just a wee bit more  and I decided it was time to stop talking (in my case, complaining) about it and take action!

About five years ago I started a daily meditation practice that admittedly has been more off than on and shorter meetings with myself than I deserve. But this year, a challenging year for me personally, has led me to practice every day…..from 10 breaths to 45 minutes. Often in stillness and silence and as often walking and chanting. Sometimes alone, sometimes with friends or my dog. And am I glad I did because now I can shift my vibration, respond rather than react, re-focus, change my mood and best of all…..NOT play the victim game with myself.

And while it’s not easy to look deep inside and ask the tough questions, the end result is amazing. And one of the best benefits is noticing that most days, I don’t have to shift anything.

Don’t get me wrong…I am still me…as I always say, short of a lobotomy we are, at our core, what and who we are.

But I am a different me, breathing softness into the rough edges, more open, more accepting, more…….well…just more!

Make the time for you and those around you will benefit – I promise!

2 comments on “IT DOESN’T TAKE MUCH!

  1. Shannon Sprague
    July 7, 2014

    Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo I LOVE THIS, you, and need to get my ass back to SAYS soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

